Need help with Netgear WGPS606 printer server

Hello all,

After thinking I was a pretty good tech, I just found out how stupid I am after wrestling with this for 5 hours.

Gear: Toshiba laptop (XP), DLink DI-524 Wireless router, HP 1350 USB printer. Everything works good to start with; I'm online (Cable modem) and I print fine. I'm adding a Netgear WGPS606 wireless printer server and all I want to do is have wireless printing. Nothing more.

I've carefully followed (at least I think I have) the Netgear manual and help pages from the net. But I'm stumped by the whole IP address-Reserved router address thing.

Netgear's setup wizard got so far but says it can't find the printer server.

Anyone done this before? Huge thanks, Bill

------------------------------------------------------------------------ View this thread:

formatting link

Reply to
bvdd
Loading thread data ...

I have the identical print server. Been a while since I set it up, but I think you do the original setup to set a fixed IP address on the print server for the printer, then tell the router to reserve that address (so no other device grabs it and messes things up). John Jones, Detroit

Reply to
John Jones

At which step in these set up instructions did it fail?

formatting link

Reply to
LR

The grammatical error in the second paragraph doesn't endear me to the product. They should have someone proofread the document.

I was thinking of getting one of these to tie two or three PCs to a wireless network, and also pick up the bonus of making the printer shareable. But their chart doesn't give me warm feelings about the printer.

The new WGPS606 print server, however, supports other printers. Multifunction printers such as combination printer/copier/fax only support the printing function. (This is true of all non-NETGEAR products, too.)