Motorola Wireless Networking Kit available at Radio Shack

I'll be getting cable internet soon, and I want to share access with another desktop and laptop. I'm a complete newbie as fat as networking of any kind goes. I've been reading through various newgroups and websites trying to get the basics down. Radio Shack has a wireless networking kit by Motorola that includes a router, PCI adapter, and PCMCIA card. I was wondering if anyone had any opinions on Motorola products. Thanks!

BR

Here's a link for the kit:

formatting link

Reply to
BR549
Loading thread data ...

Thanks for pointing that out!! What are the pros/cons between a USB adapter versus a PCI adapter for a desktop?

BR

formatting link

Reply to
BR549

Thank you so much for the advice! Hopefully this will be my last question. The desktop in question is over 4 years old (running WinME), so I'm pretty sure the USB ports are not 2.0. I'll need to upgrade with a USB 2.0 PCI card to get the best speeds, correct? Something like this?

formatting link
BR

Reply to
BR549

I do believe that will be the best way for me to go. Although I will have to use a PCI slot anyway because the USB ports on that desktop aren't 2.0. Gotta upgrade if I want that speed! LOL

BR

Reply to
BR549

All else being equal, the USB is the winner because you can get the antenna/radio up high and away from the PC. This is much better than trying to move the antenna of a PCI card by using lossy coax cable.

The other major advantage is that the USB unit does not use up a valuable PCI slot.

I have and can recommend the Linksys WUSB54GS unit with one caveat. Mine is quite heat-sensitive, shutting down if it gets exposed to anything much above room temperature. You'd need to make sure it is placed in an air conditioned space and not placed on top of any other heat generating device like a modem.

John

Reply to
Neon John

formatting link