Longest range [Laptop wireless card] ?

hi,

i am building [buying] a laptop computer, and i want the longest Range wireless card i can get i'm currently looking at the Compaq/HP laptops

i'm a novice, so what do look for, in the way of a good laptop wireless adapter/card [is one brand better, for example] ?

i see this 802.11a/b/g ....which is Greek to me

and does having Bluetooth help with wireless access?

thanks waterboy

Reply to
waterboy
Loading thread data ...

On 13 Nov 2006 16:05:14 -0800, snipped-for-privacy@financier.com wrote in :

The antenna matters more than the card. Better laptops have antennas built into the screen that are better than antennas in PC Cards, so choose a laptop with good antennas.

You'll want b and g most of the time, unless you want to connect in a business environment that uses a.

No. It only helps if you want Bluetooth.

Reply to
John Navas

thanks John

how do i know it has a good antenna? are some Brands better than others? does higher price mean better antenna?

thanks waterboy

Reply to
waterboy

On 14 Nov 2006 06:38:12 -0800, snipped-for-privacy@financier.com wrote in :

There is considerable difference between different models and different brands. For example, my ThinkPad T-41 gets "good" solid signal in a location where a friend's Toshiba Satellite A60 gets only "weak" signal. But the only guides I know of are general level of quality, and the experiences of those that have them.

I'm personally partial to T-series ThinkPads, which have a high standard of quality, including excellent antennas, that give me much better performance than PC Cards with tiny built-in antennas, on the order of

25-40% more range. Some come with Intel wireless and some with Atheros wireless. Both are very good, but I find Atheros to have a bit better range than Intel.
Reply to
John Navas

one more question getting better wireless Range

would a 17" laptop have a better/Larger built-in antenna [vs a 15"] ?

thanks waterboy

Reply to
waterboy