Local Area Connection Network Cable Unplugged

go to connect to, show all connections, right click on the local area connection, and uncheck the box for Notify me when this connection has no connectivity

yanman wrote:

Reply to
Peter Pan
Loading thread data ...

Does your machine have a regular ethernet port? That's likely what warning is about. Disable that one.

Reply to
Tom Scales

Hi there

I'm pretty new to all this so apologies if I break etiquette

I'm trying to set up a wireless internet connection using a wireless router and a wireless cardbus adapter. Once I've installed the card I get the dreaded red cross on the bottom left corner of my screen.

It states Local Area Connection Network Cable Unplugged

When I go into Settings etc it states the connection is unavailable

I use Win 2000.

Any help in configuring will be much appreciated or a point in the right direction for a more appropriate group

Cheers

Reply to
yanman

The device is working fine and all drivers are installed. The Link light on the card is flashing so no problems there. It seems the system is looking for a cable which ofcourse it does'nt need.

Reply to
yanman

Have you set up a wireless network for it to connect to?

You need to ensure that it is set to infrastructure mode and also the router and the wireless adaptor have the same SSID. Is the router set up to be a DHCP server as well? It will need to be if you want to access the internet (or connect to the network)otherwise your wireless adaptor will not be allocated an IP address.

Reply to
Tony