IP issue

I have just bought a Netgear WG614 router with a Netgear WG511. My OS is WinXP Home SP2.

I am having problems connecting. Sometimes I connect and it can be online for hours. Other times it keeps cutting out and the only way I can get back on is to unplug the router for a minute and put it back on. I get various error messages including: Limited resources...the network did not assign a network address... Could not renew IP address

Sometimes it logs on but there is no traffic at all, sometimes I cannot even log on even though I can see the network when I go to View Available Wireless Networks

Sorry if I am not including enough details but I am new to this and have tried to read through the manual and troubleshoot but have found it very confusing.

My router settings are... Internet IP Address: get dynamically from ISP DNS Address: get automaticaly from ISP Router MAC Address: use default address

I use NTL cable broadband.

Reply to
FJDx
Loading thread data ...

Those error messages mean that you did not get a DHCP assigned IP address from the router. If you run: Start -> Run -> cmd ipconfig when this happens, you'll probably find that your IP address is

169.254.xxx.xxx. That's the default IP address block used by MS if it can't find a DHCP server. If it's 0.0.0.0, give it a little more time. It should be 192.168.1.xxx.

You can sometimes convince it to connect by running: ipconfig /renew Check to see if it worked with: ipconfig again. If this becomes a bad habit, my guess(tm) is that you're experiencing either a marginal signal location, interference from other 2.4Ghz devices (cordless phones, microwave ovens, etc), or other

2.4GHz access points. Most likely the latter. If so, the first thing I would do it change to a different channel. The available choices are 1, 6, and 11 in the US. I dunno what the favorites are in the UK.