Internal vs external 802.11g adapter

Hello all,

(I am new to Mac and wireless newsgroups. If there are other, more appropriate newsgroups, please mention them.)

I've just bought an 802.11g wireless access point (Linksys WRT54G) to share my DSL connection between several computers. I (unscientifically) tested the signal quality in every room with a laptop equipped with a PCMCIA 802.11g adapter.

In a specific room, the driver utility claims that link quality hovers between 35% and 50% (whatever that means) depending on the orientation of the laptop. In that room, I plan to use an Imac G4 (flat panel, round base) which came with an "Airport Extreme" slot.

Customer-Installable Parts Instructions

formatting link
What format did Apple use for the Airport Extreme network adapters? It's not PCMCIA/Cardbus, is it?

Is it standard? In other words, if I want to insert an adapter in that slot, are there third-party, non-Apple, available adapters out there?

Do the Airport Extreme adapters have the same range as PCMCIA or PCI wireless adapters? PCI adapters have an antenna, most PCMCIA/Cardbus adapters have a flat "bulge" which I imagine serves as an antenna. If the Airport Extreme is buried deep within the iMac, where is the antenna? How can it be effective "inside" the computer?

I started looking for USB wireless adapters, because they usually have a large antenna. Are there third-party USB wireless adapters with Mac OS X drivers out there? Are they better or worse than an Airport Extreme adapter in terms of range and driver support?

I plan to use WPA, or 802.11i if it ever becomes available to my hardware. I've read that some USB wireless adapters do not support it? Is it a hardware or software (driver) limitation?

I apologize for so many questions, but I must admit I am somewhat confused when it comes to Apple hardware.

I'd be very grateful for any guidance and insight.

Reply to
Grumble
Loading thread data ...