How to debug a reluctant WISP AP association (before I blame the WISP)

What data can I collect from my Bullet M2 radio to show to my new Santa Cruz Mountain WISP provider that my radio refuses to "associate" with the access point for hours upon hours after a (very) minor change in the radio settings?

HISTORY:

- I'm was trying to learn about power & distance radio setup.

- Yesterday, I started playing with the ACK distance setting.

- I've read it should be set to 120% of the actual distance to the AP.

- Google map calculators put me at 7,500 feet from the WISP antenna:

formatting link
Google KML calculators put me at line of sight to the WISP antenna:
formatting link
The working starting default ACK was 0.4 miles as shown here:
formatting link
The moment I changed the ACK last night to (the correct) 1.8 miles, I lost my connection.

The lack-of-association stayed gone for hours, even though I could easily SEE I had -65dBm signal strength. It would not associate. I went to bed and by the time I woke up, the access point had associated with my radio (with me doing nothing in between except giving it time).

This is a screenshot of the results:

formatting link
So, today I tried changing the ACK again, this time to the maximum (14.5 miles). Again, immediately I lost the association with the WISP AP even though I could see I had good signal strength of about -64dBm.

Again, this association lasted for hours with me doing nothing but a zillion reboots, scans, switches to other access points (none of which I could connect to because they weren't mine), etc.

Finally, all of a sudden, the kids yelled "The Internet is working again", and there it was. Here is a screenshot of the current results:

formatting link
I really don't understand HOW TO DEBUG this problem.