How do you know if someone is using your wi-fi router?

Hi group:

I've been using my NetGear WiFi WRG614v4 router now for a couple years and I've never set up any WEP or WPA encription.

Yesterday evening (Monday, Aug 21, 2006), I experienced an odd situation.

I noticed that my NetPerSec Icon in the Notification Area indicated that an unknown Internet signal was downloading into my Compaq R4000 laptop.

I check Task Manager and under the Processes Tab, it indicated that most of the processes were inactive except the System Idle Process.

Still this signal was coming into my PC and I didn't know what it was.

I then visited the NetGear website for setting up the router and it was there that I was able to see that a outside computer was logged into my router.

Fearing that that computer may have been sending my computer some unrequested software, etc,, I turned off the power on the router.

This, of course, stopped the incoming Internet signal.

I now have set up WPA encription on my router and I suspect that this will stop most third-party users from using my Wi-Fi router.

Is there a software utility program (besides visiting the NetGear website) that will tell me if a third-party is using my router, encription or not?

I look forward to your comments.

Regards, Al Gershen Grants Pass, OR snipped-for-privacy@hotmail.com

Reply to
gassyal
Loading thread data ...

On 22 Aug 2006 09:24:03 -0700, "gassyal" wrote in :

WPA with a strong passphrase _will_ stop anyone from using your wireless.

Reply to
John Navas

It would seem that you have solved your problem, with wpa encryption, it might be a good idea to scan your computer for spyware, and viri. Some routers allow logs, and this might be one of the options. But since you enabled wpa this will probably only show your network.