Horizontal And Vertical Antennas

Hi,

I am setting up a small wireless network that will have to cover a bit of distance. I have a 40 foot tall tower and clear shots to the buildings I have to get to.

I am mounting two antennas on top of the tower, one horizontal and one vertical polarized antennas.

My question, is there a standard as far as antenna placement using a configuration like this? Distance apart? Should one be higher than the other? I will be using a Proxim AP-4000 to run the show and have been told that a 1 watt amp on each antenna would be a good thing. Still wondering about that.

Anyway, I am new to this and would like to get this straight.

Thanks, Dean

Reply to
PrvtPilot
Loading thread data ...

Sounds good.

Great idea if the price is right.

Excellent questions. Typically you would have antennas separated by "X" number of feet (with your accent maybe I should say meters), dependent on the frequency being used. But since you are using two different polarizations you will have isolation between them already. For antenna placement of the same polarity, you can get away with less vertical separation between antennas as you would with Horizontal separation (for most directional antenna). Here is a link that will calculate the isolation you will get for the separation between the antennas.

formatting link
formatting link
For horizontal separation you can use

22+20log(d/ f) - (G1+G2) - (S1+S2) d = distance f = freq g1 and g2 are the main lobe gains of the antenna s1 and s2 are the side lobe levels of the antenna

For vertical separation you can use

28+40log(d/f) d = distance f = freq

From experience and at the freq you will be using 3 feet vertical and 4 feet horizontal separation should be good to go (1 meter vertical, and say 1.5 meter horizontal)

So long as you do not violate any emission standard from your FCC type people should not be a problem. This depends also on the gain of your antenna, and how far you are trying to go.