Going to next room in house, loosing connection

Hello,

I'm brand new to the world of wireless internet so I'm hoping you can help me. I just got last week Verizon DSL and they sent me a Linksys BEFW11S4 Wireless-B Broadband Router and a WPC11 network card. I've been using it the last three days and everything has been fine. The signal strength has been excellent since I've been staying near the router. But today is the first time I decided to try taking my notebook in another room. I went only one room away and the signal dropped to low. I went into the room after that and it dropped to "very low". Then all of a sudden the connection went out completely. Any idea why this is happening? Would I need to buy a new/better card and/or router? I dont know if you would need any more details or information, but thanks in advance!

Krista

Reply to
Krista
Loading thread data ...

I have the same BEFW11S4v4 router. Not great but good enough. I won't say anything nice about the WPC11 PCMCIA card. I don't like

2.4GHz antennas on G10 circuit board. They're just plain lossy and inefficient. Photos of one of the numerous mutations of the WPC11 guts.
formatting link

There's not enough here to make a good determination. If your inside walls were insulated with foil backed insulation, you might have a serious problem. I had to deal with one house that was built by an RF paranoid who literally shielded each room with heavy foil in the walls and ceiling. The access point in one bedroom could only be heard by other radios if the door was left open. If you do NOT have one of these nighmares, you should at least be able to use the laptop in the adjacent room.

I think the next step would be to isolate whether the problem is the BEFW11s4 or the WPC11.