D Link wireless security setup?

I am totally new to Wireless,but have successfully set up the Comcast cable modem, the DLink AirPlus Extreme DWL-650 and the corresponding DLink card DI-624 for the laptop.

All work well but I have as Virus detector NOD32 running on both machines, which use as OS WinXP Pro on desktop and WinXP Home on laptop.

I have not set up any other firewall (tried it but then I cannot use the laptop remotely to access the Internet)

The D-link Technical people said that their router was enough anyhow.

Who has a similar setup and can advise?

Should I have anything turned on or make changes to the default setup?

Reply to
Ritter197
Loading thread data ...

Read the manual for the card and wireless router. Both supports WEP, WPA and WPA-PSK encryption. If you don't have a radius server to connect to, I recommend that you enable WPA-PSK encryption. Use a long nonsense passphrase like:

7Vs4JO10A7yjHtXESZIbHhTjIwinISG5ERtxqTCtAYdhWY0VECL6RDAFAN2nZUO

Remember, the same passphrase must be used on both the wireless card and the wireless router. Broadcast the SSID. Enabling MAC address filtering is a hurdle with no real benefits. Still, many people feel better by enabling it. As long as you enable strong encryption, you should be fine.

Reply to
Doug Jamal

Thanks for helping.

My tiny manual that came with D-linkDWL-650 and DLink DI624 do not touch these areas at all. So can you please tell me how to proceed in more detail since I am not new to computers at all, but very much so to the Wireless world.

Reply to
Ritter197

Thanks, helps a lot. Now-can I use ANY number for the Encryption key?

Do I need the SAME for both desktop and Laptop?

I do use Windows XP. Anything I need to do there?

Reply to
Ritter197