crimping new rp-sma / cantenna / yugi?

there's probably alot I don't know about wifi antenna's.. I found some good sites how to make.. but wow, some is confusing as hell. And scary part is some things I haven't found a howto for at all.

First case being crimping. To make a long story short, I bought a wifi antenna years ago and made a mistake on connector. Now I have an external wireless if my laptop's builtin cannot connect. IT has rp-sma and I want to crimp a new connector to use it instead of chucking it. I have basic knowledge of crimping and I have a rp-sma being sent to me.. BUT are there extra steps or anything else I should know before doing so? are there any howto/videos to make sure I can follow and have my first attempt work?

second problem I have is if this antenna isn't enough to extend the wifi to my camp trailer (in the yard) should I go with a larger antenna? shorten cable first?.. is a cantenna or yugi worth the money or time making?

what sort of signal loss should I expect from the cable on this antenna? It is a 7db antenna roughly 8 inches tall, the cable itself is "hdf

-100" "50 ohm coax" and is roughly 5-6ft long.. is it advisable to shorten it?

Reply to
Freeballer
Loading thread data ...

What is "IT"? I'll guess a USB wireless contraption with an RP-SMA connector?

SMA connectors are particularly difficult because they usually use fairly small diameter coax (RG-316/u) or the PTFE version (RG-188/u). The first step is to identify the coax type used by that antenna coax you apparently are about to destroy, so that you can buy the correct matching connector.

What is "this antenna"? Manufacturer, model, and other numbers are usually helpful.