can't setup lan communication on wgr614v6

Hi I am new to broadband and wireless. I have just set up broadband ok but am unable to set up my new wgr614v6. Wizard stops at point where it tries to access the router on the LAN cable, browser says can't access the router, page not found. This is where it stops. Same thing happens trying to access the router manually. The only way to get the basic setup page to come up is to reset the router. Whenever another router page is requested the browser can't find it. Again, the only way to access page is to reset the router. I am not sure if the problem is a simple setup or the router is faulty. Help please!

Reply to
warwick
Loading thread data ...

Well what IP does the machine have when you enter IPconfig /all at the DOS Command prompt.

Again, what IP does the machine have when you're having the problem?

And have you tried flashing the router with the latest version of the firmware, that will sometimes fix problems with the router that just came out of the packaging box?

Duane :)

Reply to
Duane Arnold

thanks duane, i followed your directions and found the IP address as 192.168.1.100 Not sure if this is good or bad or what to do next. I will look into how to upgrade the firmware. Will keep you posted. Thanks for helping. warwick

Reply to
warwick