can't enable WPA - please help

Hi!

I am having some serious problems trying to access WPA wireless networks. My laptop seems to be configured only for WEP. I have a Toshiba Satellite M10 running XP Professional. My wireless card is an Intel(R) Pro/Wireless LAN 2100 3B mini PCI adapter. I have tried updating the driver (via the little "update driver" button within the configuration setup), but this doesn't help.

I have downloaded a file named Q815485_WXP_SP2_x86_ENU (which I read somewhere online would help my problem),but when I try to run it, it says I can only install this update on Service Pack 1.

Can anyone help me? Apologies if I have left out important information or have missed something obvious - while I do use computers every day I am by no means a computer expert.

Best wishes from Vancouver, Canada Corree and her unwireless computer

Reply to
Corree
Loading thread data ...

Dear Jerry,

Thank you for your quick reply. I have service pack 2 installed and it still doesn't work (I should have mentioned that in the first email).

Corree

Jerry Park wrote:

Reply to
Corree

I believe Windows added WPA support to XP with service pack 1, but it required a separate download (perhaps the file you have?).

SP2 supports WPA without additional patches.

Suggest you either upgrade the OS or find WPA client software to run on Windows pre-XP-SP1.

Reply to
Jerry Park