cable modem + wireless router

Hello

I changed my ISP and now I wait for the Virgin guys to drill some holes and leave in my house a cable modem. I've got:

-two built-in wireless laptops (Debian & Vista)

-the old BT Voyager 2091 wireless router

I plan to connect the 2091 to the cable modem so I can setup a wireless network and be happy again. I have no experience with cable suppliers; as I understand from google and Virgin site:

-cable modem needs to be configured (they give you a CD...)

-only one MAC to be connected at any time

-Virgin no longer requires MAC registration at installation

Now, this makes me wonder what the right steps would be:

-Should I first plug the cable modem to one of the laptops, login, unplug, and plug the router afterwards?

-Do I really need to follow the instructions of the crappy CD they'll provide or could I get away with a manual configuration?

Regards Jose

Reply to
Jose Rodriguez
Loading thread data ...

Do it yourself. Tried a Belkin install CD once and nothing but problems. Did it myself and in less then 5 mins, up and running.

Reply to
radact

No problem. That's the way it's done.

Well, I think what you're really doing is registering the cable modem with the ISP's DSLAM (provisioning) and establishing an email account.

Yep. One MAC = 1 routeable IP address.

That's because using the MAC address for authentication is a PITA. It's not the MAC address in the cable modem that gets registered. It's the one in the router which tends to change.

Right. Start at the cable end. First get the modem to work. Then setup the router with a wired connection and get it configured. Last, setup the wireless section of the Voyager 2091.