Budding wifi protocol'er

Hi Everyone!

I have recently decided that there is much gold/fun/travelling to be had in the wireless netwroking department. primarily I am concerned with wireless protocols :

3gpp, umts, Wcdma etc.(as well as the upcoming 802.11n) and due to the already exapnding options I was wondering if anyone knew where would be a good place to start. I have limited wireless knowledge but a thirst to learn it all.

Does anyone have any pointers of where to start (I am at uni and so have about 3 years worth of time I can devote to this =D), any documents I should concentrate on or books that would help out. My aim is to eventually write protocols myself - so if anyone does this themselves could you tell me how you got into it, where you started and possible links. Thanks for all and any help

------------------------------------------------------------------------ View this thread:

formatting link

Reply to
Major
Loading thread data ...

Dragged into it screaming all the way.

Reply to
DTC

Major hath wroth:

On behalf of everyone, welcome.

Gold? Yes, but only to those that are at the top of the profession. That days when wireless was magic and required high paid magicians are over.

Fun? Well, I have a rather warped idea of what constitutes fun. If staying up all night troubleshooting defective radio or protocol implementations is your idea of fun, then by all means, have fun.

Travel? Well, wireless tends to be the "solution" to many 3rd world communications problems. The problem is not the lack of infrastructure. It's that any infrastructure that can be sold, is immediately stolen. For example, copper wire disappears as soon as it's installed. Fiber isn't much better as it also has value. That leaves wireless, were only the end points need to be guarded. Yeah, I think you'll just love 3rd world wireless.