beginner wireless security part 2

I enables WPA on the XP machine and router and all was fine. Then I put a wireless card in my Windows 98 SE desktop and it could not access. The card has the ability , but I guess 98 does not? Doc said I could only upgrade XP machines.

So, I disabled WPA and went to bed.

Now, to get both machines on I need to use WEP on both machines instead?

Sorry I did not mention the second machine in my original post, it was a last minute decision to put it on the network wirelessly.

Thanks for the help, jojo

Reply to
jojo
Loading thread data ...

I am new to Wireless Technology.I bought the BT Voyager Wireless router,I have a windows 98SE desktop,and a Windows XP laptop.I bought and installed the card for the desktop, and PC card for the laptop.

I wanted to make my laptop my main computer as it is a pentium 4 and the desktop is a Windows 98SE Celeron.

Everything works fine,I can connect to my broadband from both computers at the same time,but what i want to do is share files and use the desktop printer for my laptop.This does not seem easy to do.

If you know JoJo how to connect the two i would be grateful for a step by step guide.Maybe we can share ideas more as we learn more.

I also secured using WPA/PSK but on links it says Security WEP. strange.

Thank in advance

Kevin

Reply to
Kevin

well...we have different routers, but the same setup. both machines are wireless.

I don't know about making anything the "main computer". As far as I know, both are just computers on the same wireless network.

I have not gotten that far yet. As soon as I have basic security, I'll try the same thing. Someone in another thread said something about making sure AP was selected. I don not know how to do that or where it is yet...so you are a little ahead of me.

Be happy to work with you, as long as you know up front that I am clueless too! ;-) Let me get to that point, or let me know if you reach it first.