Basic question on house ethernet design

Hello all,

Although I'm a software developer, I am not so familiar with networking technologies, and I would like a sanity check on this before I purchase anything:

In my living room now, I have cable internet coming into a Motorola Surfboard cable modem, and out of that into a Linksys WRT54G wireless/

4 port router. All is fine. I want to keep the wireless on this level of the house.

However, in the basement, the last owner installed a small hub with ethernet going into 8 rooms (nice!). I want to purchase a new switch (8 or 16 port), install it in the basement with all the ethernet lines branching out from there.

Question 1: What would be an appropriate switch here? I like Linksys, and the basement setup is a rack mount system. Not sure which model to buy.

Question 2: Can I simply run an ethernet cable up from on of the ports on this new switch to my WRT54G upstairs?

Thanks immensely!

Dean

Reply to
DeanB
Loading thread data ...

close.

run the cables: Modem to router to switch to individual device (computer)

You can also add anotherWireless Access Point (AP) at any of your 8 wired locations if your wireless range needs better coverage.

Any L>Hello all,

Reply to
alan

Doesn't really matter much. I needed to do something like this a few months ago, and the only rack mount "consumer level" gear I could find in local stores was Netgear. I thought it was overpriced, and ended up getting a SynOptics switch from a company which I used to do business with, that was surplus to their needs.

A better description would be running an Ethernet cable DOWN from a LAN port on the router to the switch . There should be at least one port on the switch that can either be Normal or Uplink. You want to use it in Uplink mode. The "mode switch" may be manual or automatic, depending on the sophistication of the particular switch you get. John Jones, Detroit

Reply to
John Jones

Thanks John, Alan.