Aruba or Meru

We are currently looking over some of the wireless lans systems on the market and have pretty much narrowed it down to Meru or Aruba. We are looking for site wide wireless with the plan to go to VoIP at some time.. I feel that both have their strong points. I like Arubas security features and Remote AP Module. Meru's strong point seems to be the "virtual cell".

Looking for some advice. What do you all think? Meru or Aruba

Thanks for your imput

kdw

Reply to
kdw
Loading thread data ...

"kdw" hath wroth:

Personally, I prefer Symbol for wireless switches. Aruba is fine but I have zero experience. I can't advise which is appropriate for your unstated applications topology, and price point.

Meru got caught screwing with the 802.11 duration value in the 802.11 header. See:

Specifically:

"The 802.11 standard defines the CTS-to-Self duration value as being long enough to cover one following data frame (often in the range of

300 microseconds), but Meru inflates this value outside of the 802.11 standard to as high as 2,500 microseconds, thereby protecting multiple sequential data frames and monopolizing airtime."
Reply to
Jeff Liebermann

Thanks Jeff Yes, I read the article on the Meru/Cisco test a week ago. I asked one of Meru's sales reps about it and asked him to send me documentation on the companies response. Have not seen the documentation as of yet. His personal response was the testers did not have a good understanding of