A question for the experts out there...

Greetings. I would appreciate some advice.

I am hoping to provide free wireless access to a low income retirement community consisting of 100 small houses located 50 - 150 feet apart. The terrain is extremely flat with only small trees, and the houses are all single level 2x4 construction, which seems to allow pretty good radio reception. But, I am also hoping to avoid the need for any tall antenna towers.

I have no experience at this sort of thing, but my early research has led me to a new company called "Meraki" that claims to make it easy to spread affordable broadband access. Their "plug-and-surf" concept appeals to me, but at $49.00, the Meraki does not appear to be the best (lowest cost) solution for my problem. It seems that their repeaters are relatively low power, probably resulting in a need for one Meraki unit per home, and possibly even requiring some outdoor repeaters. (Not only would this be expensive, it would result in a large number of radio "hops" to the most distance users.) Therefore, I am now hoping to find a higher powered solution that could achieve similar results with less radios.

And, I have recently discovered the EnGenious ECB-3220 which claims to support "Wireless Distribution System (WDS)" at 400mW of output power. Could this be the right tool for the job?

If configured properly, could multiple ECB-3220 devices provide a "Meraki-like" mesh network across the entire community that would allow shared internet access from a single DSL connection? (If necessary, I am willing to consider two DSL connections located at opposite ends of the community. But, I do not expect any heavy bandwidth demand. Just email and light surfing.)