108Mbps vs. 54Mbps

Hello guys. I'm fairly new to wireless tech, but have set up a few basic systems for some of my customers. I have just purchased a laptop for my wife. The computer has Intel® PRO/Wireless 2200BG internal network card. I purchased a D-Link DI-624 108 Mbps High Speed 802.11g Wireless router. The router was DOA and the store I got it from is an hour away. I ran down to the local Radio Shack and got at Linksys WRT54G 2.4Ghz 802.11g wireless router. My question is if it is as fast. It claims a speed of 54Mbps or half as fast as the D-Link. Is true that my connection speed is half as fast or is the issue range, and finally is the internal card capable of receiving 108Mbps? Thank you guys for clearing some of this up for me.

Reply to
Mad_Unit
Loading thread data ...

The "standard" for the 802.11g is 54Mbps. To get beyond that each manufacturer uses different technology to "enhance" the signal. No two manufacturers use the same technology to do it. You could have bought a WRT54GS and gotten the 108Mbps but ONLY with another Linksys card that supports "speedboost".

Reply to
f/fgeorge

the 108Mbps of your d-link router only works with a d-link 108mbps enabled wifi card. thus if your wifes laptop uses its internal wifi card, it will work at

54Mbps mode nomatter d-link, linksys or any other 802.11g router.
Reply to
Ali Babba

"Mad_Unit" wrote in news:1108562129.985780.18290 @g14g2000cwa.googlegroups.com:

You'll need a Dlink 108mbps card to get the full speed.

Also, with WiFi, I doubt you'll get probably 30 - 40% of the rated speed. So with a 54mbps AP, expect about ~20 - 25mbps. With a 108mbps AP, you'll get about 40 - 50mbps. Don't expect to hit 108mbps, you'll need a wired LAN for that.

Reply to
Lucas Tam