VPN via ADSL: connection hangs

I'm clueless.

I'm trying to connect via VPN to our corporate network using an ADSL connection. My system is Win XP Servicepack 2, and the VPN connection is L2TP-IpSec, I use a SpeedTouch 510 modem.

I can successfully connect and open an ssh-connection (using cygwin) to one of the local servers - but after a short time the connection hangs, e.g. I issue an 'ls' (unix-style) and some lines are returned and than it stops dead. But the VPN connection still lives and I can open up another ssh session - which will die the same way soon after.

As far as I know the MTU size is set correctly by the firewall. I was told that it's not necessary to change settings on my local machine. The VPN setup works for other people - but I'm the only one using ADSL. I'm far from an expert with VPN and I would appreciate any hints to get this running.

Thanks in advance, Stephan

Reply to
steph
Loading thread data ...

No, it does'nt seem to be connected to inactivity: I connect via ssh, enter 2 or 3 commands, then it hangs. And there's no difference if i do it all at once, or if I wait in between. But what is interesting: it seems that it always hangs when the output is some larger list. For instance, when i enter 'ls' in a small directory it's no problem, doing this on a larger one (for instance /usr/lib) it hangs.

Reply to
steph

I have to display my lack of knowledge here: Is this max frame size something that's determined by the firewall, or is this a setting I can enter on my client machine? (i.e reducing ist would solve the problem)

Reply to
steph

Maybe related to a firewall dynamic rule state expiration. Are you transfering information on a continuous basis over the SSH connection ? If you loose session after a inactivity time, have a look to your firewall (remote site probably).

Cheers, Alex.

--

formatting link

Reply to
Alex Chauvin

Reply to
davidl

steph a écrit :