IPSec as solution to subnet problem

Hello,

I am a network admin for a small company and am looking at a problem: I need to find a solution for our employees connecting from different locations around the world, to our company LAN, one way or another.

We have been using PPTP (as built-in in windows) thus far, but our problem is that people sometimes make connections from subnets that match our subnet (the "192.168.0.x problem") and we cannot really afford to change either. I have read that setting up a VPN-like solution trough IPSec would overcome the problem. Is this true?

I understand there are some issues like certificate deployment, but I do not believe this could be a problem considering the point that all company computers start their life in my office. I am not too eager to go for any extra commercial solutions and am hoping to be able to use what we already have (windows server ISA / windows XP workstations).

Can IPSec tunnels also be used to link LANs (two LANs filled with workstations, same subnet, two machines used as gateways for N-way communication)?

Thanks for any help in advance.

Reply to
DustWolf
Loading thread data ...

Same problem I'm afraid. You need to renumber a site. Always avoid using 192.168.0.x and 192.168.1.x for a company network.

Reply to
Mike Drechsler - SPAM PROTECTE

As Mike noted you have to re-number something. Either re-number one or more of the subnets or if you don't want to change the physical subnet, the change it virtually by using 1:1 NAT. Changing the physical subnet may be painful but if at all possible that's what I'd do. NAT is something of a last resort when you absolutely cannot change the physical subnet.

The following explains how NAT would work in case "use 1:1 NAT" still left you wondering how it is done. In the simplest case where you have two identical subnets at two sites that want to talk to each other :-

192.168.1.1/24 A 100.100.100.1 | internet | 200.200.200.1 B 192.168.1.1/24