3-site VPN implementation w/Terminal Server

Hello,

I am a catch-all IT consultant in Southern California with very little practical VPN experience (but learning quickly). I am therefore seeking guidance and affirmation from the gurus in this forum, if you would be so kind.

I have a client with a small medical practice who would like to consolidate his patient data into one location. He has 3 sites (2 medical offices, 1 billing office), each with their own self-contained instances of 2 core DB apps. Each site has their own LAN, workgroup, router, and DSL Service of varying speeds/equipment. The medical offices have 9 total users (4 and 5, respectively), while the billing office has only 3. All client PCs have either XP Pro SP2 or XP Home SP2. There are no "servers", only workstations hosting the DB data over standard file sharing.

Office growth has reached a plateau; there is no anticipated user increase for the forseeable future. Money is always a factor, but I have been told that special consideration can be made for an "appropriate" price/performance solution. The main goal is to consolidate the patient data from all 3 sites into 1 central location so that all users are viewing the same tables. The DB app support techs will perform the data merges, I need to design and implement the infrastructure.

My proposal:

- 12 total users (5,4,2)

- the 5 user site becomes the "HQ"

- New Windows 2003 Domain Controller at HQ site will host the consolidated DB Data and MS License server

- New Windows 2003 Terminal Server at HQ site will host the 2 DB apps

- Standardize all 3 sites to highest ADSL Service w/static IP addressing (SBC Yahoo!® DSL Pro-S - Speed: 1.5-3.0Mbps downstream/384-512Kbps upstream IP Address: 5 Static Price: $74.99/mo)

- Standardize all 3 sites to same make/model of VPN router

- Establish tunnels into the HQ site from the 2 other sites (non-mesh)

- All clients will access the 2 DB apps on the Terminal Server at HQ Site via RDP

VPN Questions: