Complete Newby Questions

Church and office, parsonage RIGHT next door. Youth office and kitchen downstairs, four offices upstairs.

Two lines in church, and one at the parsonage.

Would like to have a basic system to handle/route calls, with voice mail boxes, on hold music, etc.

Looking to buy from ebay, and older QUALITY technology is fine. I can handle the install myself, and I have a friend in the business if I get stuck.

Any suggestions, tips and info is greatly appreciated.

I am understanding by what I have surfed and learned today that I need a PBX box, either with VM built in OR as an addon module. Would like to be able to input on hold music/custom messages that I can create. Also I need a phone that I can use as a programming station, and then however many extension phones we need. As the church is small I can't see using more than the three lines they pay for now and 8-10 extension phones max. We could use 6 including base phone now.

If this has been hashed and rehashed, I apologize, and request you reply to my email by removing the text DYNOMITE

Reply to
Pete Pemberton
Loading thread data ...

I would look to a couple of systems, either a Panasonic KXT series or an Avaya Partner. Both ot hese systems allow single line sets which is good for the Parish hall. Now you hang a $20 wall phone with restrictions so the kids aren't using office phones to call home.

In Panasonic, it's probably better to look at new than immerse yourself in the 30810/61610/TD/and TA family. A new TA-824 with voice mail might cost about $2500 with phones, but you know that you're getting a current version of the software. In Avaya, a Partner Endeavor (308) will probably come in at the same amount with phones a voice mail, but again, you'll know what you're starting with.

I mention the Pana and Avaya systems because the phones you bought 20 years ago, with a couple of exceptions, will still work on the cabinet you buy today....a pretty good deal.