Business phone system - where to start?

Even if you never buy from them is a great site to learn about phone systems in general and Panasonic and NEC in particular. I've setup 5 or so system from them.

But if you want a T1 interface, study then really really really consider bringing in a firm to at least handle that aspect of things, if not all of it.

Reply to
David Ross
Loading thread data ...

Was wondering if someone could point me in the right direction. Work for a company that has about 30 employees. We currently have a digital phone system (not sure which one) with voicemail and a single T1 line. We have an 800 number and get calls constantly throughout the day (sometimes all the lines are used up). I'm a network engineer (new to the company) but have no experience in phone systems and have been told "go find a new one". Apparently we've had all sorts problems with the system crashing, lost voicemails..etc...so they want to start over. So where do I even start to look for a new system? How do I know which ones are good and which are junk? Buy or lease? Any advice would be appreciated.

Reply to
The Other Mike

Look in your local yellow pages directory for PBX vendors. Establish a relationship with one of them and be prepared to spend some real money. 30 employees, say 40 extensions, I'd put the ballpark anywhere from $8k to $50k, depending on what level of reliability and features you are looking for. You may be able to upgrade your existing PBX, preserving your investment in desk sets and line cards.

--Dale

Reply to
Dale Farmer

The first place to start is identifying your present system :-)

Once you know what you have, you can start identifying the problems it has. A T-1 can have 24 incoming voice lines and with 30 employees, it isn't likely that you have 24 working lines, unless you're into bookmaking. It may be that you just need to work with your present or a new vendor and repair the present system, or, keep the phones and replace the cabinet.