basic telephony questions -Demarc -punchdown

Could someone provide a few links to sites which go into detail about the process of punching down wires? I'm amazed at how little information is out there on setting up demarcs, I've checked Chapters and the large main library here in Vancouver and they have nothing.

The Homer Depot sells the tools (Tone/Probe, PunchDown Tool) but no one there has a clue as to how they work.

I've been asked to change a connection from one telco to another, which should be a simple matter of moving one set of wires punched down to another demarc fom another telco. I assume I simply then have to check an RJ11 receptacle for a signal sent from the new telco.

As i've never done this before, could someone provide some first hand insight as to what i can expect? Where would a person go, aside from becomig a teclo employee, to learn how these work (I've been doing computer networking for a while so i have the general concepts down and understand what i've read so far re: telephony). Even phreaking manuals would probably be more assistance than the crappy manuals from the Harris tool website.

Thanks for the help

-Kallen

Reply to
Kallen
Loading thread data ...

formatting link
a lot of good info and links to other resources

--reed

Reply to
Reed

Another source might be

formatting link
I believe he even has a Video for sale showing him install a couple of phone systems which involved punch blocks.

And if you are completely frustrated try checking out his telephone line powered stuff at

formatting link
Good for a laugh or two...

Reply to
GlowingBlueMist

Computer networking is not telephony. And if you really did networking, you would or should have already known what a demarc is, and what is needed to punch down a circuit. Ask the person who is responsible for your pbx to do it.

Reply to
Dana

Are you in Vancouver Washington, or Vancouver B.C. ?