Two months of Ooma VoIP service and I'm still astounded [Telecom]

Two months of Ooma VoIP service and I'm still astounded [Telecom]

Over the years here in comp.dcom.telecom many VoIP providers have been discussed and some were dissed. Believe it or not, I've been tracking the progress of Ooma for almost 7 years now after I abandoned all my landlines (PacBell, now AT&T) in 2002 due to constant price increases.

Now retired, I find myself needing to contact government agencies every now and then and it's frustrating to be placed on hold and having the cellphone drop the signal and/or having the battery deplete and losing my place in the telephone queue. Calling multiple vendors for service such as a water heater replacement is also tedious for many of the same reasons.

Two months ago in the ba.internet group one person wrote he recently subscribed to Ooma's service and it was a no-brainer and the quality is excellent and service is free with only a monthly cost of $3.91 (in Silicon Valley) for federal and state taxes and E911 service.

Note that one must buy the Ooma Telo -- it's a one-time expense and it's available at numerous retailers in the USA such as Amazon, Best Buy, Costco, Frys, Newegg, and many more and also from Ooma itself.

That was the clincher for me noting I've setup and operated PBX and Asterisk-based VoIP service for clients over the years in addition to all the IT tasks I'd also perform for the same clients -- I wanted something simple, reliable, and plug'n'play for my home system.

As the person wrote in ba.internet, setup was literally a no-brainer.

Plugging the Ooma Telo device into a switch on my LAN was plug'n'play with the Telo acquiring everything it needed to function via DHCP, and all I had to do next was choose a phone number, establish auto-billing, enter the E911 information, and finally Voice Mail setup (the greeting, etc.).