Telco payments question [Telecom]

In Australia all the major telcos will now charge customers extra for paying their bills by non-electronic means, has this sort of thing become the norm in the US and other countries?

Reply to
David Clayton
Loading thread data ...

Airlines and banks have started charging extra for non-electronic interactions.

The 7-11 ATMs used to be quite handy. I could pay our phone, electricity, and gas bills at the ATM. And once upon a time you could buy Southwest Airlines tickets through them.

John

Reply to
John Mayson

If you want to pay your bill at a Sprint store and don't ise oen the of terminals they charge, unless the terminal is down, at&t charges or at least the place you pay it at does. I do all mine online at their web page.

Reply to
Steven

I do all mine by Bank of America on-line banking. I've been using it since 1985 when we had to access the system by modem.

Reply to
Sam Spade

All the landline companies that I know of charge the same no matter whether you pay your bill electronically or by mail. Some of the LD companies charge extra for paper bills or hard-copy payment. The cell companies I'm familiar with (Verizon) charge the same either electronically or by check. Some places add a service charge to pay in person. Prepay cellphone time (most brands) is often available from other vendors, online, electronically, at a discount from what the phone company charges.

Dave

Reply to
Dave Garland

I remember BoA's Homebanking, they used to use Tymnet, way before the Internet, I used to like it since it was very small and when you had to call it was like talking to a small local bank. We used to be able to access Western Union's e-mail system and the system that allowed you to sent messages via the USPS, don't remember what it was called. When I saw your post I looked around here and found the users guide and my old Apple II software that worked with it.