Re: [telecom] Cell-phone generation increasingly disconnected [Telecom]

At most, a place that made some extra effort to block cell

> signal might need to post a notice that they are a sheilded > location and cell phones won't work, but a lot of places > already block signal without trying. I've been advocating > using the Farady cage idea for at least 10 years. It would > cost very little during new construction. They could make > foil backed wallboard and wallpaper. Instead we get 3 reminders > at the beginning of every movie to turn off our cells. Sigh. > > Bill Ranck > Blacksburg, Va.

I would think deliberately blocking calls would be far different from service being unavailable for natural reasons. The restaurant that did so would probably soon find itself shunned by so many customers that it would have to go out of business. Even those of us who bemoan the use of cell phones in restaurants probably do so occasionally, and I have been in restaurants where there were cell users who were not annoying anyone.

-- Wes Leatherock snipped-for-privacy@aol.com snipped-for-privacy@yahoo.com

Reply to
Wesrock
Loading thread data ...

Seems to me the same claims were made regarding prohibiting smoking in airplanes, bars, restaurants, and stores.

obtelecom: the fumes, ash, and particulates from cigarette smoke dramatically raise the maintenance requirements at any central office using step-by-step switches.

-- _____________________________________________________ Knowledge may be power, but communications is the key snipped-for-privacy@panix.com [to foil spammers, my address has been double rot-13 encoded]

***** Moderator's Note *****

It's OK, nicotine and cell phones are both addictive.

Bill

Reply to
danny burstein

On Sat, 01 Aug 2009 14:17:06 -0400, danny burstein wrote: ........

And both are banned (well, the smoking method of infusing nicotine anyway) when people fly, so they can do without both "addictions" if required.