Re:Pulse dialing overhead, was: ANI vs. Caller ID [Telecom]

I repeat, "FALSE TO FACT".

> > First, there is _NO_ repetitive 'scanning of all lines' for > on-/off-hook status. That approach is TOO *DAMN* EXPENSIVE (in terms > of resource consumption) to be practical. > > I'm not going to go into all the gory details, but the basic outline of > switch architecture is that it has some functions that *must* be done > at specific time intervals. These are 'real-time' tasks. Each of these > tasks has the exclusive, and *un-interruptible* use of the CPU until it > finishes its processing. Obviously, these routines are written to use > as little CPU as possible, and return control to the scheduler. "Bigger" > real-time tasks are broken down into "whatever" number of smaller pieces > as are needed to get the execution time of each individual piece under > the size of the real-time scheduling 'slot.

I have no knowledge of the RTOS or operating code in WECO switches, however I have programmed hard realtime systems and know that the best use of slots is for coding shared DSP tasks (such as filters) which run to completion or exit early to give more time to background tasks, and that pulse decoding, whether for bit-banging a serial interface or interpreting dial pulses from a telephone line can be handled by a properly managed priority interrupt system and do not consume realtime slots. I can't imagine that modern switch hardware would have any overhead issues with dial pulse decoding. Even 'asterisk' supports it without caveats on FXS hardware that detects it. Any perceived cost to an operating company regarding time to complete a call is also probably a red herring in today's environments. BTW, a polled environment is more deterministic and may well be the method of choice for scanning lines in a truly hard realtime implementation, and with modern hardware may well require less machine cycles than an interrupt-driven method (it would be my choice if designing a switch).