Re: Harassed by robocalls [Telecom]

"Eric Tappert" wrote:

> >> Any hope for relief is bound to be killed by the first amendment to the >> Constitution. That guarantees our right to free speech, even over the >> telephone when it is severely annoying > > No, it doesn't, or we wouldn't have a Do Not Call List.

I am not a lawyer, but ... Since the 1940s, the Supreme Court has drawn a distinction between political speech and commercial speech, in order to allow government restrictions on the latter. While this interpretation of the First Amendment has sometimes proven controversial in constitutional law circles (there are some First Amendment advocates who feel that there is no constitutional basis for stripping FA protections from certain classes of speech just because they are commercial in nature), this precedent is what allows legislation such as the Do-Not-Call Act to pass constitutional muster.

Political speech, on the other hand, is something the courts have been far more reluctant to allow Congress to tamper with. After all, if there is any class of speech that the FA was clearly designed to protect, it is political speech. And advocacy for or against candidates or causes during an election season is about as purely political a type of speech as exists. So any attempt to extend the Do-Not-Call act to prohibit political calls would quickly end up in court, where it would almost certainly run into unsympathetic judges.

However, there is nothing preventing politicians from voluntarily abjuring the use of campaign robo-calls. There is an organization called Citizens for Civil Discourse that encourages politicians to pledge not to call phone numbers registered by citizens at CCD's web site.

Bob Goudreau Cary, NC

***** Moderator's Note *****

IANALB I have to ask "Why"?