Polling switches for record information - any guidance? [Telecom]

Hi,

I'm developing an application that requires records from lucent and nortel switches for analysis. I am not an expert on the capabilities and functions of switches - still learning. I am wondering if there is a telnet type functionality available to the switches whereby you can connect via TCP/IP and spool the record information to an output file? Or is there a function/command you can run to create a frequent output file that can be obtained by ftp/sftp. My objective is to periodically and automatically download the switch information to analyze the results and perform further investigation on the configurations therein for validity. Any advice/pointers greatly appreciated!

Regards,

Gerard

Reply to
gerard
Loading thread data ...

I know from previous (long time past, now) experience that info from switches (real time and otherwise) is controlled totally by the switch manufacturer, and sometimes they decide to only allow access to their own management systems or to third-parties that pay a licence fee for the privilege of accessing the interfaces.

There are usually "next best" options which involve collecting data via legacy ports and then you have to implement your own solution for transport/analysis etc.

This may be different now, so hopefully some others will offer more info.

Reply to
David Clayton

Advice: _define_ what you need to do in much greater detail. Both so you know what you need to do, and so that someone you ask has a =hope= of giving meaningful suggestions.

The "class"/size of switch involved makes a *BIG* difference. Things are very different on a multi-exchange-handling CO switch, vs., say, a Nortel "MICS".