your feedback on DIY security alarm system

Hi,

I am planning to purchase a DIY home alarm system and I was wondering if I could get your opinions about the alarm systems present here:

formatting link
that captured my attention:

- Ademco Wireless Ready Package

- Ademco Plus PowerPack V20P

- PowerMax Plus Wireless System

Here are my constraints:

- Want to cover about 10 windows and 3 doors

- Need a feature that has the ability to send alerts via. phone, e-mail

- Easy to install (wireless most probably)

- Price limit $350

- Expandability (ability to monitor to about 30 devices)

- Supports a couple of motion sensors

Nice to have:

- Access from the internet to the alarm system

- Ability to send alerts to more than one phone number

I am new to home security alarm systems but I have chalked down all the features that I like to see. I would really appreciate if you would please give me feedback on the systems that are present in the web page. I am open to alternatives.

Thanks for your time.

Reply to
aerosmith
Loading thread data ...

I had a Caddx NX8E system before rebuilding our home. It was a great security system, and could be integrated to home automation with a little effort (and $). It supported GE/ITI wireless sensors which are excellent.

I now have an Elk M1G which is very easy for a DIY'er to install and maintain. I think it will do pretty much everything you're looking for, but will exceed your $350 project cost by a bit. You can access the M1G via your cell phone to determine status and to control pretty much everthing you would want to from a remote location. Internet control is available at extra cost.

Check out

formatting link
I would encourage you to do hardwired sensors as much as possible. The money you save over wireless can be put to better use in the control panel itself.

I do not have any financial interest in any of the items I recommend.