Wireless Motion Sensor goes off when A/C set to higher temps

Ok. I'm going to apologize. Although I studied engineering many years ago, I am NOT interested at all in studying alarm systems and how they work and I am a woman. SO, please bear with me but perhaps one of you geniuses could help me with a problem we have.

Each and every time we leave town we turn our A/C up to about 80 or possibly higher. Would have to ask hubby the exact temperature but he doesn't wish to cool the house while we're gone.

When we do this after we leave town and usually when we're out of cell phone range our alarm system starts going off. It is ALWAYS the wireless motion sensor in our front hall area.

Now, we have a maintenance contract with our provider and they have sent several people out none of whom seem to know what they are doing in this area and all of whom have their own theories.

The first one said there was a known problem with that motion sensor not working properly with our old motherboard. So he replaced the entire motherboard of the unit.

We left town and again had to call and have the system ignored while we were gone as the problem started happening again.

Today someone came out and said he suspects it is the sunlight coming thorugh the window causing the alarm to go off. I said if that were the case then it should be going off even when we're in town and gone during the day. He said, no the A/C would cool it down and keep it from going off. However, there would stil be a temperature difference on the stairs regardless of what the AC is set at.

I asked him if there was a specification from the manufacturer with operating temperatures to which he replied "NO". As an engineer I really doubt anyone made an electronic device and did NOT specify operating temperatures.

So, I'm trying to figure out WHY this keeps occurring. Is this unit truly BAD? Is it the sun? Is there an operating temperature and perhaps we need to set the A/C to not go past that limit?