Wireless Alarm System

Hi Guys,

I am looking at installing a good wireless alarm system in my one bedroom apartment.

I'll need 2 PIR's, and 3 window/door sensors. I would also like a remote panic button next to the bed and a smoke detector.

Ive been looking at

Simon XT DSC Envoy Ademco Lynxx DSC Alexor

I'll be going through a company using contact ID monitoring.

I'm a tech savy user and will be programming/installing this system myself.

Anyone have any pros. cons or opinions on these systems - what would be the easier system

Reply to
opticalee
Loading thread data ...

I'd go with the Lynx Plus...nice system for a DIY'er.

Jim Rojas Technical Manuals Online!

formatting link
Cornwall Lane Tampa, FL 33615-4604

813-884-6335 813-440-6653 Fax
Reply to
Jim Rojas

RHC: The new DSC Alexor is a decent panel and VERY easy to program. I've put in about 6 or them now in homes that are TOTALLY finished (even the basement). Feedback from clients has been all good (so far)

Reply to
tourman

Yeah, the DSC alexor seems like a nice system - the wireless keypads are a great option.

Reply to
Ryan Mercer

RHC; It retains the design of a normal alarm( ie: main control panel away from the keypad and not IN the keypad) yet allows total flexibility in where you can place it, as well as all other wireless components.

I've never been a big fan of these totally wireless systems because they have been overutilized in the past by the "quick buck artists" and "money machine" companies more interested in the customers bank account than in their security. However, these later breed of panels actually seem to work pretty well and have their place in some homes and businesses where running wires conventionally is just not an option.

Reply to
tourman