PTZ Dome Recommendations

I am looking to install an exterior PTZ camera to view a parking lot. I am new to the CCTV side so I would appreciate any advice concerning reliable PTZs. I am currently looking at the Bosch Autodome 300 and the Pelco Spectra IV series. Any recommendations on manufacturers?

Also, has anyone had issues using Cat5e for the RS432? Thank you for any input.

Reply to
farmerclint
Loading thread data ...

Cat5 should be fine for your RS485, normally I use a 4-Core Screened belden type cable for simplicity (power and data on the one cable, and I have it for other tasks as well you see). Depends on length really to be honest.

Reply to
Alex Threlfall

The new autodome is great. The

formatting link
is great too. It makes getting the right part number to order a lot easier.

I don't know about RS432. I have heard of RS232, RS422, RS485 but not RS432. What are you going to use to control the dome? If it is a DiBos you can just use up the coax controls, if there is coax there now and you don't want to run new wire. Otherwise you should use the wire type the manufacturer specs for the communication protocol you plan to use. Bilinx or Bi-Phase are Bosch PTZ control protocols. If you're using a video switch that doesn't use those protocols, you may need to use a Bi-Phase converter to get all the features out of the dome.

Reply to
Just Looking

I have used Pelco Spectra II and Pelco Spectra III. They are ok, with some of the older ones seeming to hold up a little better than the newer ones. Indoor installations seem to have almost no problems. I have not used the Bosch Autodomes, but there are some guys here who will swear by them.

I'm getting ready to install several of the Spectra IV domes in specialty indoor application. We shalls ee how they hold up, but like I said, I've had almost no problems with any of the indoor applications.