Never had an alarm before but...

I'm just beginning to research home security systems. It is quite bewildering, and salespeople are not much use as a source of unbiased information, to say the least.

I've not had much luck finding a place on the internet where I can read reviews of the different types of system, reviews of monitoring companies etc.

Does such exist? If so, where?

I was a bit put off by a guy from ADT who offered my "over 1200 dollars worth" of hardware (but only if I signed up today), and what amounted to $42.00 / mo for monitoring. ($CDN here).

Can't I just by the best hardware, install it myself and pay somebody to monitor it? Surely if I can build computers, I can install other electronics.

Or is there more to this than I can even imagine?

I no so little about this whole thing I don't even know what I don't know.

Tkx, V

Reply to
brumac
Loading thread data ...

You can start your search here:

formatting link
Feel free to email me if you need help.

Reply to
Frank Olson

I'm not in the alarm business. I know a little about some makes and models because I've actually installed them for my own use. I can understand that there probably isin't an internet resource for info and reviews of various makes/models - it's not a very common consumer item. I'm also in Canada (Ontario).

Yes you can.

You will probably have to buy an alarm panel and sensors from an "authorized" dealer. I would recommend that you obtain a DSC model

1550 panel, metal enclosure box, 12 volt sealed lead-acid battery, door switches and (if you need them) infra-red motion sensors. The sensors will probably cost $30 each, the door switches maybe a buck or two each, the panel, box and battery maybe $300, and the keypad maybe $100.

Here is some info about the 1550:

formatting link
Note that DSC is a Canadian company.