honeywell updating 5192Sd V Plex smokes

Just got a letter from Honeywell they are discontinuing the 5192SD and SDT and bringing out a new 5193SD and SDT which sounds like they are going to be using the System Sensor I3 technology. Good move love the I3 series.

Reply to
nick markowitz
Loading thread data ...

What's so good about them?

Reply to
Jim

I3 is one of the most stable smokes out there of all the brands i have used. and it is compatable to many different panels.

Reply to
nick markowitz

That's true, Nick. I sell tons of I3 smokes. They will be an improvement to the "V-Plex" series. It's not yet available though. ADI has no stock on the

5193, with or without thermal sensor.
Reply to
Robert L Bass

I'm curious about what you mean by "stable".

I've been using ESL smokes for too many years to count but mainly because years ago, System sensors smokes were too "industrial" looking for residential installations and they were tan instead of white. Through the years, ESL has had a few recalls but nothing that has affected me to any great extent. The ESL units with the round smoke chambers are pretty immune to dust accumlation but ..... in my opinion are slower to react to smoke. Now days, everyone has a better looking smoke detector but I'm just wondering how well they detect smoke.

The reason I ask about what your definition of "stable" is ..... it's because in my experience, when that word is used to describe any kind of sensor, it implies less false alarms but in reality the result is a longer time to respond.

One of the attributes that many people didn't/don't like about Visonic motion detectors is that they actually "detect" motion. They are described by some as "being too hot". But I think people don't like them because you can't just slap them up on the wall without setting them up and thinking about how and what it's going to see. Many installers would like a motion detector that you can walk around in