Home cameras for outdoors?

I'm new to this, but we need to get some decent quality reliable, but not real expensive surveillance cameras setup around the outside of our house, with a DVR that can record all channels.

With wireless systems, what powers the cameras? Do you have to keep changing batteries all the time, or do you run power to them?

Are the wireless channels encrypted?

I was hoping to get outdoor cameras as part of a packaged system like that, but with PTZ - pan tilt zoom and night vision too, but don't see that offered. Most of what I see is just night vision.

Does the PTZ stuff make it super expensive?

Reply to
Jane_Galt
Loading thread data ...

Reliable isn't a problem, but you are not going to find inexpensive cameras or DVR/Camera kits that have any kind of quality as far as picture goes. Basically the kits that include 8 cameras and a DVR and sell for less than $1000 at Costco or Sams will let you see motion and people shapes, but at any kind of distance beyond 20 feet or so, especially outdoors, forget about facial recognition.

No. Unless you are thinking of a game/trail camera. Security cameras are wireless only in that you don't have to run a signal line to the camer. You do need to run power, but that can come from any nearby source and doesn't have to come from the DVR or PC.

No.

Night vision in a package system is usually a dozen LEDs built into the camera body. They're good for about a tight circle of light about 10-20' away from the camera, but all they allow again is a general outline to be discerned. You aren't going to get any kind of facial recognition.

Yes. And the presence of PTZ has no bearing on the quality of the image.

Reply to
Robert Neville

Jane,

I hope your question is legit and you didn't follow me here.

Please don't start up your political soap-box here, these guys will spank you down.

To ASA: