Hey Roland and others: Arecont Vision 1.3 Mpixel Network(IP) Camera

I'm new to the IP cams. They want $545 for the Arecont Vision ( AV1300), is this wholesale? Me thinks this is awful high for the "dealer" price I got.

Also what is the consensus on the Luxriot software?

Reply to
Cam-man
Loading thread data ...

AV-2100 Arecont 2.1 Mega pixel IP Color Full Body Camera, POE, .5 Lux: wholesale around low 600.

Not all IP cameras are megapixel cameras. Do you need just an IP camera? Remember these Mega pixel cameras eat a lot more hard drive real estate.

Reply to
Roland Moore

Roland Moore inspired greatness with:

Actually I *might* just need 4 IP cams that will mount into standard outdoor housings. The situation is this: (let me know what you think)

There are 4 add-on cams that need to go to remote buildings about

2000' from the head-end. There is an existing unused cat5 cable about half way down (more than 1000'), where I plan to mount an outdoor camera P/S in a NEMA4 rated enclosure. I want to use the existing cat5 cable to transmit the video for the 4 cams I'll be adding.

I have two ideas.

1> use IP cameras and run cat5 to each from my new P/S, and mount a network switch inside the NEMA box. 2> use an NVT-452R receiver at the head end, splice the pairs for video at the P/S - and add my power onto a pair of the CAT5 to the cams, and use 214A-M's baluns at each analog camera.

I'm leaning towards idea (2), but this will not allow for any future expansion. Plus, the DVR is a Geovision 650, that as far as I know will not accept IP cameras data unless I use encoders to modulate the signals again. The existing 8 cameras are all analog and getting encoders for everything would be cost prohibitive.

Reply to
Cam-man