Help understanding CID protocol

My goal is to equip the new house with alarm system which is monitored by the central station. I am new to security systems, but once I started learning about them, my DIY personality started leaning towards building a system myself. By doing some research in this discussion group I learned that alarm systems communicate with the monitoring station by sending CID signals. If CID is a DTMF sequence, can I generate it using any DTMF encoder? If I know the CID format that is expected by the monitoring station, does this mean that I can have a computer to control a DTMF encoder in order to send code sequences to the monitoring station? Is there any response from the monitoring station that I need to listen to, or I can be in "transmit only" mode? Is there any spec to CID tone length, pause between tones, or any other restrictions? Thank you.

Reply to
ymg200
Loading thread data ...

No central station in their right mind would monitor a system like you describe. Shit man, just buy an off-the-shelf panel and then let your creative juices flow.

Reply to
G. Morgan

Yes, Contact ID is an industry-specific method of communication, requiring interactivity between data transceivers. The only "transmit only" mode would be a "pager format", not Contact ID. Good luck.

Reply to
Steven Vaughan

The answers to all your questions would be yes, yes, yes and yes.

If you're half a computer hardware and software buff you can send CID signals and even construct a receiver to do so.

The question is would you really want to implement such a concoction in a real life situation? The liability you'd incur by sending signals to a CS with such an unreliable homemade setup would hardly be worth any price saving or knowledge learned.

On the other hand if your only intention is for the learning experience, everything that you've asked can be achieved on a very low budget.

Reply to
Randy Mass

Trying to re-invent the wheel .......... are you?