Battery Load Testing

ok, poor choice of words. after all I'm just an alarm installer as u no who loves to point out how ignorant we are. how about documentation

correct. which is more than your method gives. to answer your question according to the $100 plastic box with alligator clips if a 4 Ah falls below 2.6 Ah it is bad. if a 7 Ah falls below 4.55 Ah it is bad. it takes less than a minute and if it's wrong I can blame the manufacturer. not some box I made. As for changing readings, not that I would, but if anyone were to falsify the data I'm sure they would just say the battery was bad so they could sell another battery which would in no way jeopardize the operation of the system. I'm also pretty sure that your method is acceptable for testing batteries. I just needed something for the AHJ that was industry wide acceptable and gave me a reading that I could 'document'.

Reply to
Joe
Loading thread data ...

Hmmm. Why would a 7Ah require more life than a 4 Ah to be considered good? I would think that either (a) both would require the same ( just for the sake of keeping it simple) or (b) the 7 Ah could accept a lower reading because of it's larger capacity it could sustain a drain of a specific amount of current for longer period of time.

Or that the current draw and amount of perscribed standby requirement for the system the battery was being used in ..... over what period of time .... would be thrown into the calculations.

Not just a preset number. (?????)

Regardless where you got the reading ..... it would be wrong.