Are alarm companies trying to get rid of 3rd party monitoring and hobby installers?

I'm just a hobby installer and have only used honeywell stuff. I was reading up on the new lyric system. Apparently you need to be setup through alarmnet 360 to even program the thing.

It seems dsc and honeywell are both locking down their systems. I've heard even the keypad bus on the dsc panels are encrypted so you cant use a 3rd party device like the envisalink. The lyric fwir doesn't even have a bell output. Thats flippin ridiculous. Probably to prevent someone from using a relay for self monitoring?

I would guess they are also going to lock down future hardwired panels like the vista? I would have liked to upgrade to the new six sensors but doubt they are ever going to release a receiver for the vista.

It seems they really HATE it when people self monitor and not for the right reasons.

I like having a robust alarm system and may end up with a elk panel since they seem to be less locked down. I'm also planning to use more hardwired sensors so I'm not locked into a proprietary mess.

Many people are switching to ipcamera systems that don't want monthly monitoring fee's. With blue iris you can set up different profiles and alerts to mimic turning on and off a alarm. Also some cameras now have alarm inputs as well that you can hook whatever kind of alarm sensor you want up to.

Reply to
Windesmear
Loading thread data ...

Please define what a hobby installer is. Do you install security systems in your home just for the fun of it, or perhaps you change them out from time to time to see what it would be like for your home?

Or, do you install your 'hobby' systems in other people's homes?

If it is in other people's homes, you are not a hobby installer, but simply an unlicensed person who does not appear to know that much at this time.

Do you charge others for your hobby? If so, then you are probably going aga inst the law of the land also.