6150rf

I recently started to install a vista 20p system in my house to replace an existing system that was 20 years old at least. I am a novice but enjoy learning about this stuff. I bought most of everything used or new on ebay. I am in the process of getting all hooked up and turned on a 6150rf and found a problem. I can get the unit talking to the vista but the display is very hard to read. It seems like all the words are on but if you get your eyes at a certain angle, it is not all on and in fact it faintly shows what it is supposed to show but only when I have my eyes at the right level. I thought there was no backlighting but it turns out that it is on but only noticeable in the dark. Is it toast or is there something that can be done. I don't have the wireless stuff working as yet so I can't speak to whether that is working.

THX Larry

Reply to
LJP602
Loading thread data ...

the keypad needs addressed to 16 0r 17 on the key buss push in 1 and

3 at same time see what address is many come defaulted at 31 . if defaulted to 31 then you need to program it so it displays properly. upon power up push 1 and 3 then set address and push star.
Reply to
nick markowitz

the keypad needs addressed to 16 0r 17 on the key buss push in 1 and

3 at same time see what address is many come defaulted at 31 . if defaulted to 31 then you need to program it so it displays properly. upon power up push 1 and 3 then set address and push star.

Thanks but got that part done, I think. It is addressed as 17 and the vista P is set so it sees it and I can operate system from this keypad. I have a

6160 addressed as 16. Problem is just the display.

THX

Reply to
LJP602

I'm not sure I like the sounds of your keypad - that backlight shouldn't need darkness to be noticeable.

The first thing I would do is take it apart and make sure the display connections are all clean and tight.

I don't have a lot of confidence that this will fix it but it's always possible and worth the effort.