Wil I be able to use a Z-Wave controller

Hi,

I found some information about Insteon's 2414S controller and I'm now pretty sure we will be able to use it .

My question is now, will it be as easy to use the Z-Wave Controller as it seems to be with the Insteon controller ?

formatting link
And will it work with european (230V / 50Hz) Z-wave products ?

Florent

P.S. : Sorry for posting in an other topic, but it's more specific than the first one.

Reply to
Florent Clairambault
Loading thread data ...

Reply to
Dave Houston

Thanks for that URL. The PDF "Specifying a Vizia RF system" says more-or-less the same things I've been saying for a few years (since Z-Wave was introduced). They say you need a node every 30' "typically" while I've said 20-25' for reliability, especially in in an unfriendly RF environment.

Reply to
Dave Houston

It's not just 50Hz versus 60Hz but also 868.42MHz versus 908.42 MHz used for RF.

This link gives a brief overview.

formatting link

Reply to
Dave Houston

A couple of their dealers were claiming wildly inflated range figures. One even claimed Zensys used super-secret technology that gave ultra-long range even through metal. ;)

Be careful of the max hops issue. The standard systems are limited to 4 hops which may be inadequate from the "far side" or beyond. Leviton's high priced spread has 7 hops which should be adequate but whether a non-Vizia remote can iniate longer-lived signals is a question you should look into.

I'm not up to speed either. I looked at it early on and decided it was too limited so have only checked on it sporadically as others have asked questions (which has been infrequent). I noted the Echelon white paper which spoke to the range issue way back when.

formatting link