Video cabling advice needed

Hello. I'm looking for guidance on a project I want to do. I am new to this type of thing, so I am need any tips or suggestions you have.

I want to combine DVD, TiVo, satellite, and OTA antenna into one using a modulator. I would have about 4 coax runs to make to TVs, each 50 feet or less in length.

1) I've found the Channel Plus 5545, Channel Plus SVM-24, and the Channel Vision E4200 as some possibilities (the SVM-24 being stereo, which would be a plus). Any suggestions on which one is better? Are there any others out there that you like better?

2) I've looked at wiring examples for these modulators, and I don't know if I'd also need something like the Channel Plus DA-8200BID or 8200HHR which they show. Would I need an amp with this setup? If so, what is the difference between BID and HHR? I don't know why I would choose one over the other. I'm also confused about the filters they show (mostly on the OTA feed), and if I need them or not.

3) I want to be able to change channels, turn the antenna rotor, etc. from anywhere, so I also need an IR solution. I was thinking about using something like the Harmony 890 so I wouldn't have to have IR receivers, pyramids, etc. around the house. My question or concern is if something like this would be able to blast the IR signals to all the components if I have them on a shelving unit or bookcase, etc. Do you have any experience with the 890? Do you have any other suggestions on how to do this?

Thanks for any help you can give!

Mark

Reply to
Mark Clark
Loading thread data ...