Updating X-10 Home Automation

I have been using X-10 with a CP290 Interface for almost 19 years. It's worked very well for me, for the most part. I use it to control all the lights inside and outside my home. I had problems in the past with some of the devices failing, but, thanks to this forum, a recommendation for a simple Repeater plugged into my dryer outlet solved that problem.

Now I'm getting more failures, not bad, but devices not working, or coming on, but not dimming, at times, like they are programmed. I was thinking it's time now to look for something more updated. Besides, my old pc with the serial port and Windows 98 isn't going to be around much longer, so my trusty CP290 will be forced into retirement.

I stayed with the X-10's as they were inexpensive, simple to program, and for the most part, reliable. My question now is what is the best system to move up to to replace my X-10's? I only have about 10 devices in service now, inside and out, more with the holidays coming up, but all are controlling house lighting. I'd like something inexpensive, add ons available as needed, with simple pc control.

Smarthome is pushing Insteon, is that a reliable format or is there something better? Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks, John

Reply to
John
Loading thread data ...

$0.02 If inexpensive is important criteria, you are stuck with X10. Insteon, Z-wave, UPB, etc. modules for controlling are from $35 to $90 each. If you stick with X10, get a new coupler/amp such as Jeff Volps "XTB II", and X10's CM15A and ActiveHome Pro. Will be more reliable than your old set-up, and still cost less than the new formats.

Reply to
D&SW

Insteon has the advantage that it is compatible with your X-10 devices so you can transition to new devices gradually without busting your budget.