Starting Computer through X10

Hi;

I am new to X10 and I have a related question that I was hoping you would help me out with. Is there an easy way I could start up my computer by remote? I was thinking about installing an X10 outlet and plugging the computer into it. But I am not sure what I would have to do for the computer's power button. usually if you hold the computer power button in, it will restart the computer so that leaves jumping the switch out. Do you know of anyway I could accomplish this? It would be great to enter the house, have a switch on the wall, click it, and have my computer start up while I change clothes or whatever.

Thanks for any help or ideas.

Pat

Reply to
komobu
Loading thread data ...

The "soft on" power button on your computer is routed to two pins on the motherboard. You could parallel a momentary "on" switch with that (it's very easy to identify). I wouldn't, however, suggest using X-10 because the last thing you want is the computer to "soft off" in the middle of writing a long report which could occur if X-10 experiences a sudden "hick-up". :-)

Reply to
Frank Olson

When starting your computer you can press an F key, usually F2 or F10 - watch for it during boot up - to get into your System BIOS. In there you will find an option to "Auto Restart on Power-Up" or something to that effect. By selecting that the PC will start up when power is applied at the plug - no buttons to push or wiring needed. An X10 Appliance Module will rarely false off but do save your work frequently. Perhaps using a housecode that is otherwise unused will reduce erroneous shut downs.

komobu wrote:

Reply to
bruceR