security camera - save to disk advice please

Hi

I have no experience in this area - advice sought.

My daughter has had her car 'keyed' / (scraped) several times outside her house (3 yards / meters from window).

I would like to set up a camera which would be triggered when someone passes the car, it should take several stills or a few seconds of video.

I would prefer to save directly to storage media - possibly a removable hard disk, although flash media might be an alternative.

As car can be inspected each day, the media could be erased daily.

I would appreciate comments on the practicality of taking the images (mostly at night) and the practicallity of saving images direct to recordable media.

Note boradband / wireless internet is not available in the premises so IP camera will not be practical.

Thanks ColinK

Reply to
ColinK
Loading thread data ...

You might check whether the free HomeSentinel would be suitable. It's pretty good at detecting motion in low light. Download it from:

formatting link

-- Bob Day

Reply to
Bob Day

IP cameras do not require an internet connection of any kind, only a PC or network recorder of some sort. That said, they're relatively expensive for a temporary setup like this.

If you have a computer in the house, there's plenty of software available that will do what you want with any USB webcam. Otherwise you need some sort of video-capture device to use a standard camera.

Most of these cheap cameras, however, do not have very good low-light performance, so unless she parks under a street light, you may not get usable images.